An independent country since 1991, after the collapse of the Soviet Union, Armenia is located in the south part of the Caucasus mountains, at the northwestern end of the Asian continent. It borders with Georgia and Azerbaijan to the north and east, Iran to the southeast and Turkey to the west.

Its population is about 3 million, 98 percent of whom are Armenian. The official language of the country is Armenian, but most of the population also speaks Russian.

Although included within the Russian political sphere of influence, Armenia is in a key geostrategic area for regional connectivity and energy transport to Europe. Bilateral relations between Armenia and Russia are characterised by strong cooperation in the security sector. The partnership between the two countries is mainly based on both countries being members of the Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO). Russia maintains two military bases in the country: one in Gyumri, north of the capital Yerevan, and another near Erebuni (Yerevan District).

Armenia’s total trade with Italy was approximately $ 225,8 million in 2021, with machinery and products for the clothing industry being the most traded items. Italy has a long history of excellent relations with Armenia, which became a member of the Council of Europe in 2001, during the Italian presidency.